Help with original rigging---please

Topics primarily or specifically about the DS1. Many topics are of general interest, so please use forum sections on Rigging, Sails, etc. where appropriate.

Moderator: GreenLake

Help with original rigging---please

Postby Samwooly » Mon Sep 23, 2013 10:25 am

I'm new to sailing and to the daysailer and I'm having
Some trouble. The boat is partially disassembled so
I'm trying to get it back together correctly. My problems
Area only with the running rigging, all the hardware has
Been removed from the CB trunk.
If anyone has an original factory setup in the oday 1963
I would sure appreciate pictures.
I'm trying to keep it original and use what came with the
Boat until I have se experience.

Thanks, Dan
Samwooly

Re: Help with original rigging---please

Postby GreenLake » Mon Sep 23, 2013 1:45 pm

Dan,

perhaps you could describe what you have in more detail.

As for keeping the factory setup - some versions of the factory setup might not be such a good idea.

I can sympathize with the desire to not get "fancy" without an idea of whether you'll be able to get the best out of a complicated setup. But the best course is to go for something that most of us here would consider straightforward and usable, w/o chasing after the elusive ideal of going back in time.

On the aft corner of the CB trunk most people have mounted a standup swivel block for the mainsheet with a cam cleat. Using a ratchet block there is going to make your life easier (the ratchet lets you hold the mainsheet in your hand, so you can release it quickly to prevent capsize). Using a cleat that you can uncleat the mainsheet by pulling up is also going to help you prevent capsize.'