DS1 first purchase advice please

Topics primarily or specifically about the DS1. Many topics are of general interest, so please use forum sections on Rigging, Sails, etc. where appropriate.

Moderator: GreenLake

DS1 first purchase advice please

Postby peuth » Mon May 02, 2016 5:27 pm

Novice here, looking to buy a DS as there is an active fleet in my area. Found this one not too distant from where I live. Question- is this a reasonable asking price? Any opinions on the price or other aspects are greatly appreciated. Thanks

https://fresno.craigslist.org/boa/5550687489.html
peuth

Re: DS1 first purchase advice please

Postby Alan » Mon May 02, 2016 7:27 pm

$2100 is a decent price for a boat in ready-to-sail condition. If the stays (shrouds and forestay) are the original 3/32-inch wire, you'll want to replace them with 1/8-inch wire stays, which you can get from D&R Marine.

I'd give the trailer a close look. The wheels are pretty rusty, which hints to me that the bearings may need repacking or replacement.
Alan

Re: DS1 first purchase advice please

Postby GreenLake » Mon May 02, 2016 7:51 pm

Trailer bearings are moderately easy to maintain yourself and when a trailer is used in the water are simply a regular maintenance item like tires. Best to pop a wheel and have a look, either when you get home, or before you get on the road (esp. if you have some ways to go).

There's probably always something to fix / add to a boat like that, even only to fit some personal preference. That said, for the asking price you should expect to be able to sail the boat "as-is" first (and not have to do major work first). The boats, esp. the older ones, are eminently repairable, so most "defects" become a matter of price negotiation. If the sails are recent (from date of manufacture, not when they were bought used by the seller) that may justify a bit higher price, less the older they are and about even after 10+ years of actual use.