CB fastening and wedge

Topics primarily or specifically about the DS1. Many topics are of general interest, so please use forum sections on Rigging, Sails, etc. where appropriate.

Moderator: GreenLake

CB fastening and wedge

Postby drwunnenberg » Wed Aug 04, 2021 10:30 am

I am new to owning a DS and I've installed the new CB from Rudy but I'm trying to understand what makes it 'stay' in the upright position with all that weight hinging on the one square peg position. Is it that I just don't have the triangular bronze mount tight enough? I've seen others talk about having some type of wedged material around the CB in it's slot to provide a tight fit. I am also not understanding how the metallic CB wedge works with the CB handle in the upright position. I've also seen others on here talk about having a 3:1 system to assist in raising the handle from the down position. Any help would be great, I've almost got her in the water.
drwunnenberg

Re: CB fastening and wedge

Postby Anstigmat » Wed Aug 04, 2021 11:11 am

IMHO it's a big weakness of the design. It puts way too much strain on one pivot point that is prone to wearing out.

I support the weight of my CB with a line that goes up from the back of the board, through the CB trunk, and into a cleat. I drilled a small hole through the rear of the board and another through the CB trunk...actually the previous owner had done that part for me...anyway the line is secured through a clam cleat. Any time I pull up the board I simply use the line and cleat it off, which supports the weight of the board. I use the lever to lower it, but never to raise it. My board drooped a whole lot before making this fix.

I did also make a large "washer" out of PVC that I placed onto the pintle itself next to the CB which solved the side to side play from the board being much thinner than the trunk itself. This has worked very well. People cleverer than me did both sides with thinner material, but I simply used what I had on hand.