Newbie: Daysailer Restoration Project

For issues common to different models of DaySailer.
Except Rigging and Sails.

Moderator: GreenLake

Newbie: Daysailer Restoration Project

Postby sirk98 » Tue Jul 01, 2008 2:26 pm

Hi all,

Though I sailed Sunfish as a kid, I am really new to the art/sport of sailing.

I traded in a Sailfish for a 17' Oday Daysailer (this is what the previous owner told me he thought it was)...

I know overall:
    -->it has a chalky finish overall
    -->there are some "weak" spots on the hull above the waterline (didnt inspect below yet)
    -->where the trailer clips on to the boat, the fitting is pulling away (there is an opening and it seems, without repair, after a few more winches up on the trailer, it will rip off)
    -->the chrome trim around the boat is pulling off in places

Where should I start? I started buying books/dvds, etc. I found a website showing what another guy did when restoring his 14' Oday...

Can I do this? That is the first question. What is the boat worth (resale) if it were restored (approximate, of course, I think its a 1969 model)? This might help me figure out how much money I should consider investing here (e.g., pro repair versus DIY)

Any and all comments MORE than appreciated!
Kris
sirk98

Postby jpclowes » Tue Jul 01, 2008 5:04 pm

Hi Sirk
Welcome. Can you post a few pictures? That might help with some of your questions.

Boat values also vary by location, where are you?
J .P. Clowes
Eastern Great Lakes Regional V.P.
DSI 14083
jpclowes

Postby sirk98 » Tue Jul 01, 2008 5:16 pm

I am in NJ... I will take some pictures this weekend.. Thanks!

Kris
sirk98

resale value

Postby Roger » Wed Jul 02, 2008 9:39 am

I have been watching prices for a few years now. Generally a DS in good condition will go for between 2 to 2.5k, with prices lower and higher for poor condition and immaculate condition respectively. Low can be around 1k to a high of about 3.5 fully decked out with excellent motor, trailer and sails.