centerboard leak Please help

For issues common to different models of DaySailer.
Except Rigging and Sails.

Moderator: GreenLake

centerboard leak Please help

Postby tuntini31 » Tue Jul 12, 2011 7:02 pm

Hi. I am 17 and bought a daysailer to just have fun. Im not a racer by any means, however I am new to fixing sailboats. Well just like many others with daysailer II, mine has a crack located in the bottom of the hull, at the forward opening of the centerboard trunk slot. Can I just apply silicone in the crack and make it water tight. Im unsure about the whole fiberglass cloth fix, but I feel like the silicone or epoxy in the crack would do the trick. Am I right? Thanks everyone, im a noob to daysailers. ;)
daysailer II
tuntini31

Postby GreenLake » Tue Jul 12, 2011 7:17 pm

Silicone is probably the worst you could attempt. It get's into the gelcoat and prevents any later permanent repair.

I'll let people who have made a fix to that area be the first to respond with more specifics.
~ green ~ lake ~ ~
GreenLake

Postby tuntini31 » Tue Jul 12, 2011 10:05 pm

Ya I was just throwing out ideas hoping someone more knowledgeable than me had any advice to offer came along. :)

Thanks for your input. Silicone is a no-no. epoxy? Idk I'm going to wait for someone who has made the repair before like you said. Thanks!
daysailer II
tuntini31

Postby GreenLake » Wed Jul 13, 2011 2:51 am

While we are waiting for a DSII owner to chime in, let's take this systematically.

The first thing that would worry me is the source of the crack. If you don't counteract the stresses that were leading to the crack in the first place, then there's a good chance that even a solid repair might be damaged again soon.