Repair of *lumpy* bottom from trailer damage

For issues common to different models of DaySailer.
Except Rigging and Sails.

Moderator: GreenLake

Repair of *lumpy* bottom from trailer damage

Postby Bob Perkins » Tue Nov 27, 2012 12:05 pm

Hi,

Just got a DS1 that has been sitting for many years on a trailer and is large lumpy deflections in the bottom.
Anyone fixed this type of issue before?

I'm not worried about glassing, etc.. I have plenty of experience there - just not sure of the approach.
In fact - we may have found another hull only boat I could cut the bottom out from the centerboard back and replace this bottom.
Just wanted to check if anyone has fixed this before.

Let me know,
Thanks!
Bob Perkins

Re: Repair of *lumpy* bottom from trailer damage

Postby K.C. Walker » Tue Nov 27, 2012 3:06 pm

Hi Bob,

I did that repair on my boat. It’s likely with your boat, as it was with mine, it is soft from the trailer damage. I think it’s not only from just sitting on the trailer but from bouncing on an improperly supporting trailer. That flat section behind the centerboard and in front of the transom is definitely where most of my problems were. But performance wise, it’s one of the more critical places on the boat, at least if you’re trying to plane. Though, I felt that my boat could use some stiffening of the hull forward of that, as well. What I did was put in a structural foam core. This gave me a nice stiff hull to work with and then I fared it with epoxy/micro balloons and fairing compound. Yes it was a lot of work, but the boat is night and day better performing. No, I don’t race but I am enthusiastic sailor and like a nice responsive boat.

Have you considered whether you might be better off using the other hull? If that one’s pretty straight and not too soft it might be easier doing cosmetic work and moving the hardware over. If it’s just mildly soft you could run additional stringers.
KC Walker, DS 1 #7002
K.C. Walker