Cockpit floor damage

For issues common to different models of DaySailer.
Except Rigging and Sails.

Moderator: GreenLake

Cockpit floor damage

Postby Thomasjbrothersjr » Wed Nov 28, 2012 1:45 am

I picked up my new to me DS II this fall. This is one of the more significant repairs I need to address. The other is cracked supports inside cuddy on the ceiling supporting the deck. There are a few great posts out there addressing the Cuddy issue.

in regards to the cockpit floor, I have little experience in this type of fiberglass repair. My neighbor, Bob seems to know his stuff when it comes down to this type of project. We are planing on tackling this in the spring. I would like to have some ideas before we break out the tools. I imagine there are a 100 ways to fix anything. Ideas? Words of encouragement? Looking for input from the community here.

Thanks ahead of time!

T-Bone
Attachments
image.jpg
image.jpg (149.4 KiB) Viewed 9132 times
"It's not the towering sail, but the unseen wind that moves the ship"

1983 O'Day Daysailer II "KALEIGH B"
Thomasjbrothersjr

Re: Cockpit floor damage

Postby GreenLake » Wed Nov 28, 2012 2:48 am

For those of us that don't own DSII's but know a bit about fiberglass, you could perhaps add another picture showing where abouts the damage is.
~ green ~ lake ~ ~
GreenLake

Postby GreenLake » Wed Nov 28, 2012 2:49 am

Can the other side of the crack be reached?
~ green ~ lake ~ ~
GreenLake

Postby Thomasjbrothersjr » Wed Nov 28, 2012 1:36 pm

There is no way to access the back of this damaged section. The damage is just forward of the transom, in the cockpit, on the floor. The bilge section is beneath it. You can also see the cockpit drain in the bottom of the picture as well.

Thanks
T-Bone

Thomasjbrothersjr

Postby GreenLake » Wed Nov 28, 2012 7:03 pm

How I would approach something like this.

1. Turn the crack into a hole, but not a round one
  2. Bevel the edges
  3. Reach in and rough sand the underside