Jib fairlead conversion, which block?

For issues common to different models of DaySailer.
Except Rigging and Sails.

Moderator: GreenLake

Jib fairlead conversion, which block?

Postby fatire » Sat Jul 13, 2013 9:16 am

Hi Forum Members,
DSII noob here.
I have read with interest many posts on converting the fairleads to the CB trunk and am ready to pull the trigger.
Was going to use swivel base cam cleats but decided maybe that's over kil so I've settled on the Racelite RL-261-S - Camcleat with flange base and strap from Duckworks. No comes the task of selecting an appropriate block to replace the original fairlead/cam cleat assembly on the tracks. Looks like I need a block that will attach to the clevis pin that secures old FL. But which one, there are so many styles?

It looks as if a swivel pin connection like RL305B is ideal but there are no measurements as to the width of the "pin bracket". The orig fitting has 3/4 spacing.
http://www.duckworksbbs.com/hardware/bl ... /index.htm

As there are so many shiv sizes and attachment schemes I thought I'd seek the wisdom of the forum.

Many thanks and fair winds.
Steve from NH
fatire

Re: Jib fairlead conversion, which block?

Postby fatire » Tue Jul 16, 2013 3:53 pm

Well I'll answer my own question in the hopes that anybody else who comes along in my shoes might benefit, which Chuck at Duckworks helped me with below:

Hi Chuck,
Thanks for the response, I re-measured the inside of that shackle and it's a solid .750" or 12/16ths so the .
Rather then the double shackle what about simply using a RL-621-B and running my existing clevis pin through the eye-strap?
Also, do you stock all thr RL hardware, specifically the RL-261S and the RL-621B?
Thanks
Steve

Steve: