Rigging tension for basic sailing

Moderator: GreenLake

Rigging tension for basic sailing

Postby mkwmson » Sat Apr 11, 2009 9:02 pm

I recently purchased a Spindrift DS1 and have a question about basic rigging. How much tension should the shrouds & forestay be under for basic sailing? I am new to sailing and the only experience I have is in larger (26 -34 feet) boats during lessons and the shrouds & forstays on these boats are much tighter than those on my DS1. I have not adjusted the positions from whoever sailed it before me. I guess I want to know how much trouble I can get into by over-tightening the standing rigging?
Michael Williamson
"Wet Willy"
Spindrift DS1 #11469
mkwmson

standing rigging tension

Postby Roger » Sat Apr 11, 2009 10:54 pm

If you have 1/8" ss upgrades then the rated tension is 240# I believe, according to the loos gauge instructions. If your rigging is the original 3/32, it will need to be less than that. A Loos model A should read about 50 pounds.

If you put too much tension on, you can pull the mast step through the bottom of the hull. This is not one of those things you want to guess at.

If you do not have a tension guage, then you hand tigheten all stays plus one turn. When sailing, the lee shroud should be just slightly slack.

Hope that helps.
Roger

Standing Rigging Tension

Postby mkwmson » Sun Apr 12, 2009 9:11 pm