DS II mainsheet rigging trouble.

Moderator: GreenLake

Postby EHarrison » Thu Jun 21, 2012 10:40 am

Hello everyone, My sister and I just got a daysailer II (actually we got it in april but I have been on a long trip and got back two weeks ago, only to learn that my side stays had frayed). We're having trouble figuring out the rigging of the main sheet. I had my dad help me out (I'm 15). We got the mast stepped and everything but we were really having trouble figuring out the mainsheet. It looks to me like our boat can be rigged two different ways (although I'm pretty new to this). One is what I think is called boom vang, kind of diamond shape with multiple pulleys inside (in the way we had it rigged it moved the boom back and forth). Two problems with it, one the line was only so long that you couldn't spill the sail and had to literally stand up in the boat to get the rope un-cleated, so it was a pain to adjust the sail. So in case you can't tell...not a big fan of the boom vang. So that brings me to the mainsheet. It's just a long rope with a eye splice and U thing and a pin (clevis?) going through it. So going from the foot of the mast and down the boom...U-bolt at the foot of the mast (maybe this is for the halyards?), another u-bolt about 2/3 (going towards the mast) up the boom, Then about halfway a pulley/block attached to a kind of number 8 looking bolt right above the aft end of the CB. Right below the pulley on the aft end of the centerboard trunk is the cam-cleat and a separate pulley. Then at the stern of the boom is a pulley and below that is the traveler two ropes with a wire joining the two ends and a pulley on that wire. So I'm pretty confused and really am hoping that one of you guys will know how to rig it effectively. Any reply would be sincerely appreciated. Sorry I carried on so much. I already posted this in the DSII forum but would like to get as much notice as possible. Not trying to spam the website.
Thanks and God Bless,
Ethan Harrison