Roller furling came with boat

Moderator: GreenLake

Roller furling came with boat

Postby Kylo » Wed Sep 28, 2016 2:13 pm

Hi all, picked up a 74 Daysailer 2 from Craigslist that came with roller furling. Not sure how the PO had it rigged. It has a luff wire sewn in that seems stout, so I was going to use it to replace the headstay. It has a Harken small boat roller fastened to the stemhead fitting and a swivel at the head of the sail with a wire loop at the end. I've read on the forum here that you should fasten the halyard on to tighten the jib/headstay. Would the standard sat-set 1/4 inch halyard work for this? Does anybody just use a turnbuckle to tighten the jib luff and leave the halyard out of the equation? I understand that you wouldn't have the ability to adjust on the fly to wind conditions, but am looking more towards simplicity as I am a newbie small boat sailor and am not as worried about performance.
Kylo

Re: Roller furling came with boat

Postby GreenLake » Wed Sep 28, 2016 5:06 pm

I have that setup on another (non-DS) boat.

The halyard should be something that is rather less stretchy. There's quite a choice in rope that you can use. If you want to stay with New England Rope, then have a look at their Endura Braid, for example. Sta-set is rated as "medium stretch" whereas Endura Braid is low stretch. (The ratings are from the APS website and should allow a quick comparison).

The boat I have uses a wire halyard, but some of the modern ropes can mimic wire.