Are Jib sizes flexible?

Moderator: GreenLake

Are Jib sizes flexible?

Postby gustavo » Tue Mar 05, 2013 11:11 am

All, please forgive my ignorance. I am completely new to this.
I bought a DaySailer II to learn how to sail. I came with a quarter-size hole on the jib and I am ordering material to fix it (patching dracon, sewing material, and also 3M tape).
Since the jib doesn't have a boom, is it possible for me to buy a used jib online with an approximate size of my original DS II jib?

Thanks for your help!
gustavo

Re: Are Jib sizes flexible?

Postby GreenLake » Tue Mar 05, 2013 12:15 pm

The answer is "yes".

You can absolutely use sails designed for other boats that are of approximate dimensions. The most critical dimension would be the luff (length along the forestay). If that is too long, you can't fit the sail. If it is too short, you can still fly the sail, but you will have less area. Next most critical dimension is the foot (along the bottom of the sail). If you make this too long the sail will be more difficult to tack and may have too much power in higher winds. Some sails do not have a straight foot, but one that curves down a bit. It allows the jib to "sweep" the deck in an attempt to block air flow below the sail. If this is too pronounced, you may need a shorter luff to make the sail fit. Also, some boats use sails that are a bit sturdier than what I've seen on the DS - usually for boats designed to be used in clubs. Such a sail might not set as well in very light winds, but it should be very durable.