Rolly Tasker Main Sail - The Sail Warehouse

Moderator: GreenLake

Rolly Tasker Main Sail - The Sail Warehouse

Postby Guest » Fri Apr 12, 2002 6:34 pm

I am new to Sailing, but have had two seasons of lessons on Solings at a club on Boston Harbor. Hence, I am still on a learning curve. Last year, I bought a 1981 DSII and the curve suddenly got steeper... I was relieved to have found this website. Since the DSII is my first Sailboat, I spent most of last season cleaning it up and did not launch it until 09-21-2001 due to excess layers of anti-fouling paint and a heavily oxidized layer of Gel coat. ...It was a short season. Which brings me to my issue: The Brown / Yellow / White paneled "DS" insignia Main (no hull numbers) that came with it is original, old, ugly as sin, and completely shot. In February, after shopping around for awhile, I bought a new Main from "The Sail Warehouse". The price for Rolly Tasker's "Standard / OEM" Main Sail was great @ $435.00 which included one set of reefs. It's 100% Dacron composition, has a nice coat of resin, and the boltropes and cringles are well attached. Given the price, their catalog was pretty specific in stating that it is a "Cruising Sail". Specifically, the specs do not match DSA regulations. The Luff, @ 21' 4", is 10" in excess of the Mast Band 2<>3 measurement of 20' 6"; the Leech, @ 23', is 1' 3" in excess; and the Foot, @ 10' 2", is 2" in excess of the Boom Band measurement of 10'. Therefore, it cannot be used for racing, which is fine since my ability at this stage is far from sailing competitively. My logic here is that I really don't know this boat very well yet, and I feel that I just need a "workhorse" Sail which can take some beginner's mistakes and accidental abuse without having to worry about damaging a significant investment as I overcome the performance learning curve. A lot of you guys have advocated saving your "good Sails" for optimal conditions or organized events. Although it seems that it would make f