Recommendations for an outboard

Topics primarily or specifically about the DS2. Many topics are of general interest, so please use forum sections on Rigging, Sails, etc. where appropriate.

Moderator: GreenLake

Recommendations for an outboard

Postby CapeHazeSailor » Thu May 02, 2013 5:54 pm

Hi, just got my first sailboat and as I am very new at this I was hoping someone here could provide a bit of guidance regarding what size outboard best suits these particular craft. I know the literature states 3-7 hp but what have you folks learned from experience? Obviously I don't expect to use it much other that getting the boat to open water. Any suggestions greatly appreciated. Thanks. Tom
1976 DSII #8074
CapeHazeSailor

Re: Recommendations for an outboard

Postby K.C. Walker » Thu May 02, 2013 9:33 pm

Welcome aboard!

I've got an old Johnson 4 hp and I feel like it's more than enough. There are no circumstances over the last five years that I have opened it up full throttle. Even if you were to have 7 hp the boat is not going to plane, so you're basically maxing out at displacement hull speed which is 5.5 mph. For me, I max out speed at about half throttle.

The lighter you can get the better. Mine weighs 27 pounds and I think the Honda 2 hp runs about the same. There are a number of people on this forum that used trolling motors and hopefully they'll chime in.
KC Walker, DS 1 #7002
K.C. Walker

Postby CapeHazeSailor » Thu May 02, 2013 9:44 pm

Thank you, I was thinking the lighter the better.
1976 DSII #8074
CapeHazeSailor

Postby GreenLake » Thu May 02, 2013 11:56 pm

If I had the money, I would get a Torqeedo. They use a very light battery, and their smallest electric outboard approaches the performance of a gasoline 2-2 1/2HP. Not having the money, I'm making due with a 40# trolling motor (and two lead-acid 12V batteries - I keep them forward for better weight balance).