What to look for when shopping for a daysailer

Topics primarily or specifically about the DS2. Many topics are of general interest, so please use forum sections on Rigging, Sails, etc. where appropriate.

Moderator: GreenLake

What to look for when shopping for a daysailer

Postby domromer » Tue Jul 29, 2014 11:08 pm

Hi all,

This is my first post. I've been reading a lot and decided to finally ask a question. I've been sailing for a few years. Mostly hobie cats. I've decided that I'd like something that I can put an engine on and use for exploring and beach camping. My sailing club has a daysailer which I've sailed a few times and has grown on me. I'm still deciding between this and a cat22 but for now I thinking I'm leaning towards the daysailer. The simplicity of the daysailer appeals so me. I want to spend my time sailing and not with upkeep and it seems the cat22 is going to require more upkeep. Basically I'm wondering what I should be looking at and asking when I go see this boat that I found on a craigslist that isn't too far from me.

http://orlando.craigslist.org/boa/4557262838.html
domromer

Re: What to look for when shopping for a daysailer

Postby Alan » Tue Jul 29, 2014 11:42 pm

The boat and trailer look good, judging from the photos. The price is at the high end for a 1976 DSII, but if it's ready to go (including the trailer) and doesn't need any money spent on it, then it's a decent buy.

I'd look first at the sails. Since you're an experienced sailor, you'll be able to tell if they're tired - something not at all apparent to a novice.

If the hull is sound, and the trailer (tires, springs, wheel bearings) is good, everything else can be fixed at reasonable cost.

Ask about water collecting in the bilge while out on the water (but not while moored). It's a common problem with DSIIs, and there are some elegant solutions here.
Alan

Postby TIM WEBB » Tue Jul 29, 2014 11:59 pm