rigging confusion;newbie

Topics primarily or specifically about the DS2. Many topics are of general interest, so please use forum sections on Rigging, Sails, etc. where appropriate.

Moderator: GreenLake

rigging confusion;newbie

Postby seasick » Sat Aug 01, 2015 11:47 pm

hi all. Glad to have found this forum! I'm new to sailing and to my DS II. I bought it last year, the seller rigged it for me, and when I pulled the boat out for the winter I tried to make little diagrams for myself to remember how to rig it this year. However I cannot figure out the main sheet rigging for the traveler. (forgive my possible clumsy descriptions and terminology. I study the terms but they don't all stick yet.)

I have looked up all the rigging topics and looked at the pics posted..including the rigging manual that is posted online but still am not sure. So please help. I have two blocks/pulleys at the stern--one port, one starboard. A block? pulley? at the end of the boom and one at the center of the boom. Then I have the thing on the centerboard that you can jam to hold the line or pull up to release the line. From what I gather this is a fairly standard set-up.

I threaded the line from the port block to the starboard block up to the boom-- thru both blocks/pulleys and down to the centerboard 'clamp" (i'm sorry, I have read it's name 5 times here and cannot remember it) Is that correct so far? If so, where do I tie off the end that I threaded through the port block? Tie a knot there, or tie it back to the end of the boom. All the pics I see look like a triangle is formed from the rear blocks to the boom so it looks like the line actually starts from a tie-off at the end of the boom..then goes to the port..thru to starboard.. then back to be threaded along the boom.

Please!! don't think I'm being lazy in learning the terms. I have studied books and some terms I just don't know yet or just won't stick. No one else I know sails or has a sailboat. I'm on my own with this!! Thanks