Cuddy door latch

Topics primarily or specifically about the DS2. Many topics are of general interest, so please use forum sections on Rigging, Sails, etc. where appropriate.

Moderator: GreenLake

Cuddy door latch

Postby Shagbark » Tue Feb 23, 2016 8:37 pm

I'm new to the ds so please excuse my ignorance. My new (to me) dsII did not come with a cuddy door. I would like to fabricate my own but I'm not sure what type of latching mechanism to use to keep it in place. What did the original doors have and has anyone improved on it? I plan on attaching mesh bags to the doors for halyard tails.
Shagbark

Re: Cuddy door latch

Postby TIM WEBB » Tue Feb 23, 2016 9:12 pm

Welcome to the boat and the group!

Wow - there are lots of ways to "skin that cat". I'm not even sure if any DS2's came with cuddy doors originally. One of the solutions that comes to mind is the one Talbot did:

I believe he has a "lip" at the bottom, and two turning latches at the upper corners. Good luck!
Tim Webb
1979 DS2 10099 The Red Witch
(I used to be Her "staff", in the way dogs have owners and cats have staff, but alas no longer ... <pout>)
TIM WEBB

Postby GreenLake » Tue Feb 23, 2016 9:55 pm

I don't have a DS2, but one design consideration would be ease of access for stuff that you will need while underway. A hatch can serve a useful function of keeping your stuff in the boat during a capsize, but only if you keep it shut. And to make that practical you may want to set it up so that you can open a portion of the hatch .. in addition to having nets or bins on the non-opening part to stash stuff that's waterproof (or doesn't need to be protected but is used frequently). The other design consideration would be ease of latching. Whatever you build, the less "fiddly" it is to mount or latch, the happier you'll be with it (as long as it does latch!).