I Just bought my first daysailer

Topics primarily or specifically about the DS2. Many topics are of general interest, so please use forum sections on Rigging, Sails, etc. where appropriate.

Moderator: GreenLake

I Just bought my first daysailer

Postby ecardoza » Thu May 05, 2016 7:15 pm

oday daysailer II.jpg
oday daysailer II.jpg (56.91 KiB) Viewed 11770 times
I am new to sailing and I Just bought my first daysailer last weekend. My wife and I are so excited.
Last summer I spent most of my weekends fixing up an old sailing dinghy that my grandfather gave me.

I had the chance to sail it a few times and loved it but being 6'3" it was just not a good fit for me.
During the winter months I saved my money and spent most of my time window shopping on Craig's List for a new sailboat.

After much research I decided on a O'day Daysailer 17 found one for $800.00 a good deal I thought.
My wife gave me her blessing so I borrowed my father in-laws truck and my wife and I picked up our new sailboat.

The boat doesn't seem to need much work but I did make a trip to D&R Marine to get a few needed things and met Rudy for the first time.
Great place to visit and they have everything you could ever need.

I have my new registration in hand, new title, installed a trailer hitch on my car, got my boat ramp pass, and now just need it to stop raining long enough to get everything buttoned up so I can get her in the water for my first "official, unofficial" sail of the season.

A few weeks ago when it was 70 I did take my little sailboat out on the lake for one last sail for awhile.
ecardoza

Re: I Just bought my first daysailer

Postby GreenLake » Thu May 05, 2016 7:32 pm

Welcome to the forum!

As this appears to be a DaySailer II (at least from the photo caption), I've moved your thread into the section for DaySailer II related topics.