centerboard cable broke. repair or remove?

Topics primarily or specifically about the DS2. Many topics are of general interest, so please use forum sections on Rigging, Sails, etc. where appropriate.

Moderator: GreenLake

centerboard cable broke. repair or remove?

Postby seasick » Thu Aug 11, 2016 4:13 pm

Hi all.
I'm a newbie from last year. I finally got my '73 daysailer in the water this year and the centerboard cable snapped. The centerboard is in the down position now and is basically 'aground' where it's docked. I'm hoping it will release at high tide.

I'm not sailing it this year--just taking it out by motor until the mast get repaired. So I would like to either repair the centerboard cable or remove it-for this season.

Which would be easier to do? The centerboard is completely covered from the inside of the boat. The area on the inside of the cuddy is where the cable comes out of.-- That little covered fiberglass area has obviously been cut and re-attached before--likely to be able to access the cable. I'm willing to cut it again if it gives me access to the centerboard to easily reattach.

Basiclaly I'm clueless as to how and where the thing is attached. I will gladly get under the boat with a couple of tools if it's just a couple of bolts or screws and I can remove it. There is no access inside the boat that I can see other than the under the small casing in the cuddy. Advise please
seasick

Re: centerboard cable broke. repair or remove?

Postby GreenLake » Thu Aug 11, 2016 8:22 pm

Someone from the DSII expert community will hopefully be by shortly with a bit of handholding. Until then, there are so many threads on the DSII centerboard lines that you'd expect that every issue is already covered. Happy spelunking!
~ green ~ lake ~ ~
GreenLake

Postby seasick » Thu Aug 11, 2016 8:42 pm