Spreader question

Topics primarily or specifically about the DS2. Many topics are of general interest, so please use forum sections on Rigging, Sails, etc. where appropriate.

Moderator: GreenLake

Spreader question

Postby Austin » Sat Mar 24, 2018 10:26 pm

Hi all, I'm new to sailing, just picked up a 1982 Daysailer II. Looking at the spreaders, I can't figure out if these are standard, or if they've been modified by past owners. I searched the Daysailer II forum section for spreaders, I see some people are recommending replacing with D&R 1/2" spreaders. If it's already 1/2" aluminum, is it ok, or is there anything I should be concerned about, with the base or otherwise?

Thanks for the guidance,
Austin

Spreader_1.png
Spreader pic 1
Spreader_1.png (201 KiB) Viewed 5914 times

Spreader_2.jpg
Spreader pic 2
Spreader_2.jpg (234.93 KiB) Viewed 5914 times
Austin

Re: Spreader question

Postby Alan » Sun Mar 25, 2018 4:30 pm

Welcome to the forum! You picked a good boat to start sailing with.

Going from memory, I think the wall thickness of the tubing that D&R Marine's heavy duty spreaders are made of is thicker than the stock ones. The inner ends are also formed into a square shape, so there's more contact surface riding on the spreader brackets than with the stock round inner ends.

Something you should definitely check is the wire thickness of the sidestays and forestay. My 1980 DSII came with 3/32 wire, which was standard back then. This has been known to break, which can cause a dismasting. D&R Marine sells pre-made stays in 1/8-inch wire.
Alan

Postby TIM WEBB » Sun Mar 25, 2018 4:31 pm

Welcome Austin!