jib downhaul

Topics primarily or specifically about the DS2. Many topics are of general interest, so please use forum sections on Rigging, Sails, etc. where appropriate.

Moderator: GreenLake

jib downhaul

Postby Roger » Wed Sep 11, 2002 12:01 am

I am not sure if posting a message with a picture in the photo gallery, also posts the message here on the general board. If so my appologies for the repitition.

I am new to this boat and have figured out a few things on my own and many things by reading this board. I still don't know however, the purpose of the fairleads in the picture posted at the following location.

http://boonedocks.net/talkboard/talkboa ... msgid=2755

I would appreciate any comments.
Roger

Postby Guest » Thu Sep 12, 2002 5:21 pm

You are correct. It does look like leads for tensioning the jib luff (some call it a jib cunningham). Many racing jibs have a wire luff, with the luff of the sail only attatched at the top. This way you can use the jib halyard (with a multiple purchase set up) to set the tension on your rig (basically it acts as an adjustable forestay). You then use the jib downhaul to adjust tension in the jib luff.

Chris Lewton (Cleton-at-erols.com)

Postby Guest » Fri Sep 13, 2002 11:30 am

Roger, the fairleads can be for one of many things, 1) Jib downhaul, 2) Jib cunningham, 3) Furling line for roller-furling jib.
1) A jib downhaul is used to pull the sail down and secure it after lowering, I have one on my DS II that I use once in a while. This allows one to lower the jib without leaving the cockpit, it is attached to the head of the sail and some people lead the line (mine is 3/16") through the jib hanks (or snaps), others just let it hang along the luf of the jib. I had a jib downhaul on my old Widgeon as well, that one I used all the time. In both cases these jib downhauls were added by me, not factory installed.