Hull flexing

Topics primarily or specifically about the DS2. Many topics are of general interest, so please use forum sections on Rigging, Sails, etc. where appropriate.

Moderator: GreenLake

Hull flexing

Postby nickc » Tue Jan 03, 2023 9:16 pm

How much flex is the hill supposed to have aft of the CB? I am new to the DS, my boat is definitely a project. The hull is warped aft of the CB where it was sitting on the trailer bunks out in the weather. I can’t tell if the hull on my boat is soft and damaged or of this part of the hull normally has some give to it.
nickc

Re: Hull flexing

Postby tomodda » Tue Jan 03, 2023 9:50 pm

It's got some give, especially in a DS1. Put her in the water then see. Or feel, for the DS2 with the false floor. Get in the water and run your hand along the hull. You should be OK. Build longer and wider trailer bunks when you get the chance.
tomodda

Postby GreenLake » Wed Jan 04, 2023 12:18 am

These boats are infinitely repairable, but the DSII cockpit molding may make that trickier than it would be on a DS1.

Get the boat off the trailer and see whether the deformation has become permanent. If that's a yes, you'd need to stiffen that panel from the inside.

With a couple of inspection ports added to the footwell, you may be able to reach the inside of the hull to where you could place a stringer. You may need to use external supports and perhaps screws to pull the hull flat before placing the stringer.

What's feasible would depend on the state you find the laminate in and what the access looks like after you've opened some inspection ports. A stringer can be entirely hollow, the strength comes partially from the glass that's used to laminate it in. An approach where you lay down short hollow sections and then glass over the whole might be as strong as using a foam core. A wood core isn't recommended not only for weight but also because of rot.