Daysailers in/around Central California

Moderator: GreenLake

Daysailers in/around Central California

Postby patco » Thu Aug 07, 2008 2:07 pm

Looking for some daysailers to meet up, sail with, and learn from. I'm a student at UCDavis, DSII owner.
patco

Postby Bob Hunkins » Sat Aug 09, 2008 8:50 am

Give Michael Measures in Atascadero, CA a call. They have a good fleet in Morro Bay.
(805) 466-3646
Bob Hunkins
#11750, "Surprise"
San Leon, Texas
Bob Hunkins
Site Admin

Postby foredek » Sun Aug 10, 2008 1:02 am

I live in Pleasanton. I'm headed up to Huntington Lake for a week and will reply more fully when I return. Where do you sail?
foredek

Postby patco » Mon Aug 18, 2008 12:36 pm

Went down to morro for their invitational this weekend. It was an absolute blast. I went hoping to pick up on someone's crew, but Kevin (forgot last name) had an extra boat, "the student driver", and let me borrow it for the race! I met a girl who was also looking to crew, and we formed a team and competed. Awesome experience all around. Got much advice from Mike Measures. Probably the nicest, most welcoming group of people i've ever encountered.

As for central CA daysailing, Michael Gillum in Sacramento is trying to start a DS fleet at lake Washington. If you're in/around the area and interested, let me/him/someone know, it would be great to have a fleet close to home!
patco

Postby swiftsail » Mon Aug 18, 2008 1:31 pm

Hey patco,
I'm over in Santa Rosa and will come over and play when I can.
DS 307 "Security Risk"
DS 14024 "Flight Risk"
Live Slow, Sail Fast
swiftsail

DS in Northern Clifornia

Postby Mike Swift » Mon Aug 25, 2008 6:29 pm

Hi folks, I just joined and was browsing some of the posts. Swiftsail & Patco seem to be close ( if you take in the whole USA). I'm new to sailing (and forums) and still haven't set up my DSII that has been in storage for ten years.