Sailing School

Moderator: GreenLake

Sailing School

Postby albanysailer » Wed Mar 26, 2008 2:41 pm

Anyone have any experience with Croton Sailing school?

They seem to be about the nearest ASA school to me, seem reasonably priced with a nice curriculum. I'm a beginner looking to build some skills and confidence.

Has anyone ever gone to school? Did you find it helpful? What do you think of the ASA certification system?

Thanks, Bill
albanysailer

Postby algonquin » Wed Mar 26, 2008 4:15 pm

I personally never had any formal sailing courses. I started with a book called Advanced Sailing by Tony Gibbs. To the book I added a 30 foot Luger Voyager sail boat that I had to assemble and took my book knowledge and sail boat to Barnagate Bay NJ. Set the main and never looked back. Sailing procedures can be taught in person or by book. The skills only come with experience and will come quickly as you challenge your self. Each boat comes with unique handling characteristics. I have had two large sailboats and now my DS1. The DS is unlike any boat I have sailed and will quickly instruct you on what you should and should not do with it.

You can spend some time “dry” sailing so that you learn how to set your boat up and get familiar with rigging and unrigging. Read up. Then go sailing. The rest will fall into place.

The course will have some value but I don’t feel you require it. Brad
"Feather" DS1 #818
algonquin

school

Postby calden » Wed Mar 26, 2008 5:53 pm

Bill:

After sailing for a couple of years I took an ASA basic keelboat course. I found it very helpful in that it reinforced and refined what I had taught myself intuitively. It was also helpful to be on a bigger (larger than my DS) boat and control it in very different waters than I was accustomed to sailing in. Definitely worthwhile. My learning style fits perfectly with intense reading and written testing supplemented by structured experiential learning.