Boat Trim

Moderator: GreenLake

Boat Trim

Postby jay topping » Wed Jun 20, 2007 3:14 pm

Basic Questions re DSII:

Light winds (5-10 mph)-better flat or induced heel? how much? Who is leeward, crew or skip? controls soft, mainsail sheeted to about 12" off center, clew of jib about 18" off center?

Next: fore and aft--weight between cuddy and mainsheet? over CB on tacks? Who goes first?

Next: barberhaulers, 9" off center, top of cuddy, facing aft on lip?

Next: any other speed secrets? I'm a novice racer, inland lake in Mich, open fleet, only other boats in fleet are MC scows. Sailing uphill, but my wife and I enjoy sailing together (really!), so, dingys for us.

As always, thanks, JT
jay topping

responses to some of your questions

Postby Roger » Wed Jun 20, 2007 10:58 pm

In light wind, induce heel by sitting to windward enough to have gravity shape the sail and reduce the wetted surface of the hull. Who goes where depends on who weighs what. You don't want the bottom edge of the transom dragging in the water, so if the helms person is heavy, then they should try to move forward. If both are light, both may need to sit on the lee side, if the crew is heavy, then the crew may be able to sit forward on the lee side and the helmsperson on the windward side. Trim to the boat's best sailing ability. I always found myself tucked up as close as possible to the bulkhead on one side and the crew up against the cuddy bulkhead on the other side, in light winds. In heavy winds we were both tucked up near the bulkhead on the windward side. When sailing downwind, we were on opposite sides near the transom. Sit for best heel and trim.

As you indicate, all controls are soft in light air, with slow movements aboard, and a light touch on the rudder. Moving forward and aft will change the weather helm, so trim to almost fingertip control of the tiller.