Ideal range for crew weight

Moderator: GreenLake

Ideal range for crew weight

Postby sailorskipca » Sat Mar 26, 2022 3:18 pm

My forum search didn't result in a useful answer to the question of recommended/ideal crew weight for competitive racing.
I'm an experienced centerboard dinghy and one-design keelboat racer, so I know that "ideal" crew weight is a function of the expected wind strength.
I'm new to the Day Sailer and only have a notion of what might be a good range of crew weight. I'm thinking 350 lb +/- 25 lb.
I'd love get recommendations from experienced racers.
sailorskipca

Re: Ideal range for crew weight

Postby GreenLake » Mon Mar 28, 2022 4:13 am

By definition I'm not part of the target demographic from which you are expecting expert advice.

Here are some thoughts, anyway.

The DS is not a very light boat for its size. That means the same variation in crew weight will be a smaller percentage variation of the total weight as compared with some other dinghies. It also doesn't use a trapeze. Therefore any weight differences between crew and skipper have a different effect than on a boat with a trapeze for crew but not skipper.

If your sailing venue has consistently lighter winds, then I'd wager you could be more competitive with a total crew weight lighter than your competitors (and the reverse if heavier winds dominate). In neither case would adhering to some formula weight guarantee success.

While I race, I do so in a non-handicapped event with many larger boats. I also like to mix it up with the crew I bring. Local knowledge and finding a way through all the traffic seem to be a better predictor of a successful race than hitting a crew weight target. Crew skill on the other hand...

If sailed well in heavier wind with expert, but lighter weight crew, and I've benefited from soloing in ghosting conditions (zero crew weight).
~ green ~ lake ~ ~
GreenLake

Postby tomodda » Mon Mar 28, 2022 3:12 pm

Random thoughts, in no particular order: